Tectonic Announce Mumdance & Logos ‘Proto’

posted in: Album Announcement | 0

Mumdance & Logos present ‘Proto’, Tectonic’s first major release of 2015, set for release on 16th February.

Recorded by the duo over 2014, ‘Proto’ is a collection of 10 future-facing club tracks that, against the odds, also provides a deep and involving experience for the listener.

‘Proto’ focusses on the very brief sparks of innovation when new scenes were just forming and genre rules and paradigm were still grey areas; the early bleep track days when imported American techno was starting to be appropriated by the UK, the 93-94 proto era when hardcore was morphing into jungle and later when the darker sound of tech-step reared its mechanical, dystopian head. All of this is underpinned with “Wot U Call It” grime sensibilities and Mumdance & Logos’ trademark sonic disortientation.

Mumdance & Logos concentrate on taking the moods and colours created by these leaps forward in sound and twisting them into something new; keeping in line with the futuristic visions of the originators.

Both producers had a banner 2014, launching their new label Different Circles and spearheading a movement of “spatially untethered club trax” coined Weightless. Mumdance took up a residency on Rinse FM, went B2B with Tectonic boss Pinch on their acclaimed mix release (“no one else is putting music together quite like this” – RA 4/5) before being selected for RBMA Toyko. Logos, aside from appearing with the Boxed crew across London, had a new track ‘Metropolis’ top Keysound stable comp ‘Certified Connections’ and had 2013’s debut ‘Cold Mission’ LP checked in FACT’s 100 best albums of decade so far.

01. Border Drone
02. Dance Energy (89 Mix)
03. Chaos Engine
04. Legion
05. Hall Of Mirrors
06. Bagleys
07. Proto
08. Room 2 Lazer
09. Move Your Body
10. Cold