Globetrotting Texan trio Khruangbin present their second album ‘Con Todo El Mundo’. Formed of Laura Lee on bass, Mark Speer on guitar, and Donald “DJ” Johnson on drums; Khruangbin’s sounds are rooted in the deepest waters of world music infused with classic soul, dub and psychedelia. Their 2015 debut album ‘The Universe Smiles Upon You’ was heavily influenced by 60’s and 70’s Thai cassettes the band listened to on their long car journeys to rehearsal in the Texan countryside. ‘Con Todo El Mundo’ takes inspiration not just from South East Asia but similarly underdiscovered funk and soul of the Mediterranean and the Middle East, particularly Iran.

#2 Albums of the Year 2018 BBC 6 Music
#30 Albums of the Year 2018 Mojo
“A delicate collection that welcomes you back into their magical world” Mojo ★★★★
“Exotic funk and future crate-digger gems” Uncut 8/10
“More groovy global sounds” NME ★★★★
“A celebration of what shared creativity and influence can bring” The Skinny ★★★★
“A record not only rich in beautiful psychedelic colour, by extension, it celebrates international culture and unity” The Line Of Best Fit 8.5/10
“Fresh, exciting and uniquely life-affirming” Clash 9/10
“A holiday in your headphones” Q Magazine ★★★
“There’s a lot to love about a band that can make such complex manoeuvres sound so effortless and simple” Electronic Sound Magazine
“Building on the entrancing bass-heavy melodies from their debut, injected with a touch more funk” GQ
“Their second album does an excellent job of reminding you why you loved the first without feeling like already trodden ground” Esquire
“Using their signature breakbeats, dubby bass, and cinematic guitar as primary colours, they chart a spellbinding course” Dazed & Confused
“A perfect soundtrack for escapism” Bristol Live Magazine
“Heavy breaks, reverb and in the pocket grooves” The Vinyl Factory
“A funky brew of exotic and wonderfully hazy sounds” Shindig

Playlisted on BBC 6 Music + support from Lauren Laverne, Stuart Maconie, Gilles Peterson, Tom Ravenscroft, Gideon Coe, Mary Anne Hobbs, Huey Morgan, Don Letts.
Live Session : Lauren Laverne, BBC 6 Music
Playlist : Freak Zone, BBC 6 Music

  • Release date 26th January 2018
  • Label Night Time Stories