‘Solan Goose’ is the debut solo recording from multi-instrumentalist Erland Cooper, also of The Magnetic North and previously Erland & The Carnival. Having grown up on the Scottish archipelago of Orkney, he wrote this work as a response to ease an anxiety and claustrophobia from working in a city. It explores the borders between alternative, electronic and classical music while creating for him and the listener a work of balance and calm – a kind of liminal space. Each song is entitled with a bird name but in local ‘Orcadian’ dialect. It’s a record to travel to, and evokes themes of migration, restoration and childhood memory.

Albums of the Year 2018 BBC 6 Music
#25 Albums of the Year 2018 The Quietus
#20 Albums of the Year 2018 Music OMH
“An air of melancholy, Eno-ish nostalgia” Mojo
“Mesmeric antidote to the stresses of city living” Q Magazine
“Brims with personality through its delicate approach to piano music” The Skinny
“Elegant” Louder Than War
“An audio treat. A wonderful marriage of music, time and place” Music OMH
“Quite the immersive meditation” Electronic Sound
“Cultivating a sense of calm…inspiring thoughts of seasonal migration and definitions of home” A Closer Listen
Interview The Quietus
Guide To Orkney The Line Of Best Fit
Interview Music OMH
Planet Gear Drowned In Sound
A Conversation With The 405
Album of The Day BBC 6 Music
Live Session BBC 6 Music Marc Riley
“An Audio Map Of Orkney” BBC 6 Music Freak Zone Playlist

  • Label Phases
  • Release Date 23rd March 2018