Débruit Returns With New Album ‘Outside The Line’

posted in: Album Announcement | 0

Musical explorer Débruit returns with a new solo album ‘Outside The Line’, set for release through his new imprint ICI.

After drifting far at sea, Débruit is reaching the coast of an imaginary land where ancient west Africa cohabits with 80’s New York. Hooked on a theme of “African coldwave”, ‘Outside The Line’ collects unexpected musical flotsam, combining polyrhythmic dance patterns with synthetic machine music. Its a territory where the chant heavy, minimal strut of ‘Separated Together’ rubs up against DFA-style dub-disco on ‘Shock’ and hi-tempo shenanigans on ‘Transverse’.

French producer and musician Xavier Thomas aka Débruit is a musical explorer who imagines alternate worlds and the way they’d sound. He plays with time and disparate sounds, molding static dimensions and geographical borders into new asymmetrical audio­forms. His music is electronic but with a human feel.

It’s been an interesting journey so far, starting out from the Atlantic shores several years ago. Now a seasoned wayfarer after a particularly warm reception on the RBMA stage at his Sonar debut in 2009 (having attended the academy the year before), triggered an ongoing demand for Débruit’s surprising and intriguing live electronic sets around the world.

To date he has released two albums and five EPs including the now classic electro­afrobeat single ‘Nigeria What’ from the ‘Spatio Temporel’ EP, which dancers all over the globe are still choreographing their own videos to. His 2012 LP ‘From The Horizon’ led Resident Advisor to write “his eclectic mix of exotic funk and wriggly synth lines finally congeals into a congruent mass, easily his most satisfying and accomplished work yet.” Recent Sudanese audio-adventure ‘Aljawal’ on Soundway Records was described by The Quietus as “a multifaceted listening experience that further reveals with repeated listens, and achieves that rarest of things in pop music – capturing and acknowledging the past, while reinventing and proposing for the future.” Creative collaborators have included Jamie Woon, Om’Mas Keith, Alsarah, and The Bow.

2015 will be a busy year for Débruit. He is currently working on ambitious creative experiments with a team of subversive accomplices. There will be new musical, visual and multisensory kinetic releases soon, however the details are unintentionally mysterious at this point.

Album artwork is designed by Markus Hofko http://www.bowbowbow.co.

Débruit ‘Outside The Line’
Release date: 15th June 2015
Label: ICI
Format: LP / Digital

1. Drift
2. Separated Together
3. Stand Up
4. Shock
5. Percute
6. Transverse
7. Desert Dream
8. Dundun
9. MZB
10. Synthetic Dust
11. Am Am